Grotto

Grotto

An authentic replica of the Notre Dame de Lourdes grotto was constructed in Ste. Rose to commemorate the centennial of the appearance of the Virgin Mary to Ste. Bernadette in France in 1858. Construction delays resulted in the blessing of the site taking place a few years behind schedule, in 1961—the town church had burned down during construction and had to be rebuilt. In total, 400 loads of stone were brought to the site, both by truck and horse‑drawn wagon.

Located at: Ste-Rose-du-Lac

Directions: on the west side of PR276 as you enter Ste. Rose du Lac along PTH5

Mary Maxim Company

The famous Mary Maxim Company, known for its unique sweater designs, had its beginnings in Sifton around 1935 when a young CNR station master name Willard McPhedraine founded the company. By 1955 Mary Maxim had grown immensely and the business moved to Dauphin. In 1959, the company expanded once again and moved to Paris, Ontario, where it still exists today.

Located at: Sifton

Pioneer Cemetery (North)

This location is believed to have been chosen by the Métis and French Canadians who settled in the area in the late 1800s. New iron markers have replaced many of the original wooden markers; rocks or original granite headstones mark some graves. The Russo‑Greek Orthodox parish once had a small log chapel at the foot of the knoll on which the cemetery was built.

Located at: Sandy Lake

Directions: north of Sandy Lake of PR250 (watch for sign)

Contact: 204‑849‑2107

Symond’s “Rails to Trails” Kiosk

This kiosk on the Trans Canada Trail, topped by a model of a steam engine, was completed in 2006 as a special project of the Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Association of Sandy Lake. The kiosk honours the railroaders of the Rossburn Subdivision of the CN Railroad and the area’s pioneers. A pathway of personalized bricks acknowledges those who donated to the kiosk’s construction.

Located at: Sandy Lake