This station, constructed in 1912, provided a vital link for settlers immigrating to the Parkland region. A local historical site, the station is undergoing restoration, and will eventually house the Rail Heritage Museum. The adjacent park path meanders around a variety of fruit trees.
Housed in the magnificent brick Canadian Northern Railway Station, and next to an active CN and VIA line, the museum contains artifacts, pictures, and archival material related to 100 years of railway service in the region. A model railroad depicting the rail facilities circa 1954 is on display. Open May long weekend to September long weekend, or by appointment.
Housed in the Old Post Office (1899), the two-storey museum features artifacts from original settlers, a school room, nursery, sewing room, pioneer kitchen and bedroom. Annual Museum Day celebrations include old-time outdoor games and bread baking in an outdoor clay oven.
Built to resemble an 18th-century fur trade post, the museum includes an authentic blacksmith shop, a trapper's cabin, a pioneer log house dating from 1892, and a one-room school built in 1894. Also contains the Parkland Regional Laboratory, with information on more than 1,000 archaeological sites in the Parkland area.
Gilbert Plains Museum and Tourist Information Centre houses a variety of local artifacts from early settlers of the area. Includes the community’s first hand-pulled fire wagon, the original horse-pulled fire wagon and the first motorized fire truck.
The former CN rail station -- with period furnished kitchen, waiting room and office -- houses the 234 specimens of the Baker Butterfly Collection, the McCreary Point and the Norgate Story. From the office one can look north and south along the active track, as agents did since the opening of the station in 1912. On this site sits the one-room former Canal School, furnished with a variety of desks, textbooks and items spanning the years. Included are the histories of the seventeen rural schools that once operated in the area.
Built in 1906 and now a provincial heritage site, the school still has its original teacherage and privies. Since its restoration, Horod School is now a museum. Horod is an ancient term for stockade or fort.
The firehall, a federal heritage building, has been preserved and tranformed into the Sharing Lodge, which showcases the rich culture and history of the Keeseekoowenin people. Visit elders, youth, artists and community partners, as the people of Keeseekoowenin launch Manitoba’s first Aboriginal-run museum!
Three historical buildings are on the property: the restored Elaschuk House, a designated provincial heritage site, features a thatched roof and clay walls and contains pioneer artifacts; Dunlop Cabin, a pioneer log home; and Makaroff United Church, built in 1910. Demonstrations of a sawmill in operation or bread-making in clay ovens can be arranged.
View a large array of artifacts, pictures and stories of the early pioneers who were instrumental in the development of Riding Mountain National Park. Operated by the Riding Mountain Historical Society.
Features a replica Ukrainian village, with a model church and thatch-roofed homes and buildings. Display items include Ukrainian artifacts, agricultural tools, a printing press, a pioneer kitchen, a period hairdressing salon and a school room.
Built in 1926 close to the site of the Holy Ascension Orthodox Monastery, this architecturally unique church was nearly lost to history. It has been restored as part of the Prairie Churches of Manitoba project. The church houses the Canadian Orthodox Pioneer Museum with exhibits depicting early Slavic immigrant life. Guided tours and weekly programs available.
An outdoor 10,000-seat amphitheatre, auditorium and multipurpose facilities offer a unique venue for festivals and entertainment such as Canada's National Ukrainian Festival, Dauphin's Countryfest and Jesus Manifest. Located on the northern escarpment of Riding Mountain, the site includes a pioneer village and Ukrainian artifact museum. A memorial site pays tribute to historic people and events. Call for tour information.
This complex includes a dozen historic display buildings along with the added rural touch of 15 acres of wheat and corn. Buildings include a blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, the original CN Railway station from Bowsman (built in 1896), and the original Benito telephone building. Artifacts include authentic clay bake ovens, and the Princess, which sailed with the Dawson Bay Fishing Fleet on Lake Winnipegosis.
This museum features artifacts from the original Riding Mountain settlement of 1899, including beautifully embroidered, hand-crafted clothing. Also includes a display of traditional Ukrainian arts and crafts, with Easter eggs, wood carvings, traditional breads and more. A nearby replica log house is available for viewing, and outdoor clay ovens for bread-baking operate during special events.
The museum has a large collection from the early history of the community, including displays of antique automobiles and farm machinery, a pioneer home, rural school house, early settlers log house and old Ukrainian Orthodox Church. As well as a restored 1918 Rumley tractor and refurbished 1927 Ottawa School House.
The former CNR station in Winnipegosis houses artifacts from the early lumber, fishing, and railroad industries in the area, including Native and early pioneer items. The 65-ft. freighter, Myrtle M., is also located on the museum grounds.